Jupyterhub and server/terminal interaction

Good afternoon,

I am relatively new in iPOP-up (and in python in general) and I have some basic questions concerning jupyterhub in relation to the server.

I have noticed that sometimes I (pip) install some python libraries in jupyterhub and set up a script that works fine within the jupyter notebook. Then, when I run the same commands in a script on the terminal I need to install these libraries again on the server (using conda and pip) for the script to run, because otherwise it errors because it can not find the libraries.

The same is true when I do it the other way around (I install the libraries on the server and then move to jupyterhub and they have to be installed again).

I would like to know the relationship between the terminal and the jupyterhub.

Is there a way to avoid installing the same libraries twice? can I just install everything via conda and then “let jupyterhub know” where everything is so that I don’t have to install everything again? or do I have to do it twice every time?

Thank you in advance.

Myrto Mitletton

Hello @MyrMit

Yes, you can create a conda environment in the terminal:

conda create -c conda-forge -n my_env -p /shared/projects/compdevneuro/envs/my_env ipykernel some_other_packages ... # ipykernel must be installed

And make it available in your jupyterlab instance as a new kernel with:

conda activate /shared/projects/compdevneuro/envs/my_env
python -m ipykernel install --user --name 'my_env' --display-name "My environment"

Then, in jupyterlab, select the “My environment” kernel when opening a notebook.

Thank you very much for your answer.
Have a nice day.

Good afternoon @rey,

I have a followup question.
One of the tools I am using requires a gpu.
I have chosen 1 gpu when logging in jupyterhub, but when I run the command in the new kernel (the one that is connected with the new conda env) it does not “see” the gpu.